Jesús Gil Manzano, from the Extremeño Committee, is one of the eighteen referees chosen to direct the matches of the Euro 2024 Championship in Germany, which will be played between June 14 and July 14.

Gil Manzano, born in Don Benito (Badajoz) 40 years ago, spent three seasons in the Second Division and made his debut in the Spanish top category in Málaga-Mallorca in August 2012. He has been international since 2014.

This season he has directed 27 club matches so far in all national and international competitions, including the classic matchday eleven of the league in Montjuic with a 1-2 victory for Real Madrid, as well as the controversial match between the white team in Mestalla. against Valencia, in which the game ended at the moment Jude Bellingham was preparing to score the goal that would have given Carlo Ancelotti’s team the victory.

As for national teams, this season he has refereed the qualifying matches for the Austria-Belgium and Ukraine-Italy Euro Cup, and the France-Germany friendly, as well as being the fourth referee in the Georgia-Luxembourg match.

Gil Manzano takes over from Antonio Mateu Lahoz and Carlos del Cerro Grande, who directed matches at Euro 2020; Carlos Velasco Carballo, who refereed in the 2012 and 2016 editions; and Manuel Enrique Mejuto González, who was in 2008, as more recent tournaments.

Along with Gil Manzano they will act as line judges Diego Barbero Sevilla and Angel Nevado Rodriguez, and as VAR referees Alejandro Jose Hernandez Hernandez and Juan Martinez Munuera.

Among the appointments, the presence of the Argentine Facundo Tello, and his assistants Gabriel Chade and Ezeguiel Brailovsky, stands out due to the exchange agreement between UEFA and Conmebol. Four years ago there was the Argentine referee trio formed by Fernando Rapallini, Juan Pablo Belatti and Diego Bonfá.

Also notable is the presence of the Polish Szymon Marciniak, who directed the World Cup final in Qatar between Argentina and France, as well as the last Champions League between Manchester City and Inter Milan.

The referee teams for each match will be made up of a referee, two assistants, a fourth referee, a reserve assistant in the stadium and three match officials in the VAR.

All referees, assistants and VAR officials will have to complete their preparation with a course in Frankfurt in mid-May. Everyone will have their base camp in this city except those in charge of the video, who will concentrate in Leipzig, since the meetings will be operated from the International Broadcast Center installed there.

Roberto Rosetti, UEFA’s general director of refereeing, assured that they have selected “the best referees”, who “have consistently performed at the highest level in the main international and national competitions”.

“They have prepared exceptionally well to be in this position and we have full confidence that they will demonstrate their quality in the final tournament,” he said.

Michael Oliver (ING), con Stuart Burt y Dan Cook

Artur Soares Dias (POR), with Paulo Soares and Pedro Ribeiro

Anthony Taylor (ING), con Gary Baswick y Adam Nunn

Istvan Kovacs (RUM), con Vasile Florin Marinescu and Mihai Ovidiu Artene

François Letexier (FRA), with Cyril Mugnier and Mehdi Rahmouni

Clement Turpin (FRA), with Nicolas Danos and Benjamin Pages

Ivan Kruzliak (SVK), with Branislav Hancko and Jan Pozor

Slavko Vincic (SLO), with Tomaz Klancnik and Andraz Kovacic

Daniel Siebert (GER), with Jan Seidel and Rafael Foltyn

Felix Zwayer (GER), with Stefan Lupp and Marco Achmuller

Jesús Gil Manzano (ESP), with Diego Barbero and Ángel Nevado

Glen Nyberg (SWE), con Mahbod Beigi y Andreas Soderkvist

Marco Guida (ITA), with Filipo Meli and Giorgio Peretti

Daniele Orsato (ITA), with Ciro Carbone and Alessandro Giallantini

Sandro Scharer (SUI), with Stephane de Almeida and Bekim Zogaj

Danny Makkelie (NED), with Hessel Steegstra and Jan de Vries

Szymon Marciniak (POL), con Tomasz Listkiewicz and Adam Kupsik

Halil Umut Meler (TUR), con Mustafa Emre Eyisoy y Kerem Ersoy

Facundo Tello (ARG), with Gabriel Chade and Ezeguiel Brailovsky

Stuart Atwell y David Coote (ING)

Jerome Brisard and Willy Delajod (FRA)

Bastian Dankert and Christian Dingert-Marco Fritz (GER)

Massimiliano Irrati and Paolo Valeri (ITA)

Rob Dieperink y Pol van Boekel (NED)

Bartosz Frankowski and Tomasz Kwiatkowski (POL)

Tiago Martins (POR)

Catalin Popa (RUM)

Ned Katjtazovic (SLO)

Alexander Jose Hernandez Hernandez and Juan Martinez Munuera (ESP)

Fedayi San (SUI)

Alper Ulusoy (TUR)

Irfan Peljto and Senad Ibrisimbegovic (BiH)

Donatas Rumsas and Aleksandr Radius (LTU)

Serdar Gozubuyk and Johan Balder (NED)

Espen Eskas and Jan Erik Engan (NOR)

Rade Obrenovic and Jure Praprotnik (SLO)

Mykola Balakin and Oleksandr Berkut (UKR)