JD(U)’s 12 New MPs: A Blend of Experience and Diversity

The Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) has emerged as a significant player in the recent Lok Sabha elections in Bihar, bagging 12 out of the 16 seats it contested. This victory has positioned Chief Minister Nitish Kumar back on the national political stage, with his party’s performance playing a crucial role in the BJP-led NDA’s government formation. Here’s a closer look at the profiles of the 12 new JD(U) MPs who are set to make an impact in the ruling camp:

Rajeev Ranjan Singh

Rajeev Ranjan Singh, a seasoned four-time MP, secured victory from the Munger constituency. Known as Lalan Singh, he has been a close associate of Nitish Kumar and a key figure in the JD(U). With his political acumen and leadership skills, Singh is speculated to be a frontrunner for a ministerial position in the new NDA Cabinet.

Ajay Kumar Mandal

Ajay Kumar Mandal, an EBC Gangota leader, clinched victory from the Bhagalpur seat for the second consecutive term. Mandal’s win, despite facing anti-incumbency, showcases the significant role played by the Gangota community in the region’s political landscape.

Giridhari Yadav

Giridhari Yadav, a third-time MP from the Banka seat, has been a notable figure in Bihar’s political arena. His recent victory, supported by the Modi factor, highlights his strategic approach to securing electoral success.

Sunil Kumar

Sunil Kumar, an OBC Kushwaha leader, retained his seat in Valmiki Nagar, further solidifying his position in Bihar’s political realm. With a potential increase in responsibilities within the JD(U), Kumar’s influence is set to grow within the party.

Devesh Chandra Thakur

Devesh Chandra Thakur, an upper-caste Brahmin leader, emerged victorious in Sitamarhi, bringing his administrative expertise and experience to the forefront. Thakur’s contributions to Bihar’s political landscape have been significant, making him a key player in the state’s governance.

Lovely Anand

Lovely Anand, a former Vaishali MP and seasoned politician, secured victory in the Sheohar constituency. Her political journey, marked by resilience and determination, underscores the Anand Mohan family’s return to the JD(U) fold, consolidating support from the upper-caste voter base.

Vijaylakshmi Devi

Vijaylakshmi Devi, an OBC Kushwaha leader, emerged as a surprising candidate from the Siwan Lok Sabha constituency. Her victory, despite facing tough competition, highlights the shifting dynamics within Bihar’s political landscape.

Alok Kumar Suman

Alok Kumar Suman, a Dalit leader and second-time MP from Gopalganj, continues to represent the Mahadalit constituency with dedication and commitment. His re-election underscores the support for Nitish Kumar’s governance among marginalized communities.

Kaushlendra Kumar

Kaushlendra Kumar, an OBC Kurmi leader, secured victory from the Nalanda constituency for the fourth time. Kumar’s focus on agricultural issues and commitment to addressing community concerns have solidified his position as a key representative of the region.

Dinesh Chandra Yadav

Dinesh Chandra Yadav, a veteran socialist leader and five-time MP, retained his position from Madhepura, showcasing his enduring influence in the Kosi region. Yadav’s dedication to national politics continues to shape Bihar’s political narrative.

Dileshwar Kamat

Dileshwar Kamat, a prominent EBC leader from Supaul, secured victory for the second time, emphasizing his significance in Bihar’s political landscape. Kamat’s experience and expertise position him as a potential candidate for a ministerial role in the NDA government.

Rampreet Mandal

Rampreet Mandal, a key EBC leader from Jhanjharpur, retained his seat in the recent elections, underscoring his influence among the EBC Dhanuk community. Mandal’s commitment to community issues and strategic vision make him a strong contender for a central ministerial portfolio.

These 12 new JD(U) MPs bring a blend of experience, diversity, and strategic acumen to the political landscape of Bihar, setting the stage for their impactful contributions to the state’s governance and development.